Pakistan and India will face off in the T20 World Cup on October 24 in Dubai.

Pakistan will play India in the men’s T20 World Cup on October 24 at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium, according to the schedule released by the International Cricket Council (ICC) on Tuesday.

The 16-nation tournament — to be held in the United Arab Emirates and Oman — will begin on October 17 with Oman taking on Papua New Guinea in the opener followed by an evening match between Scotland and Bangladesh in round one of the competition.

In the first round, the top two teams from each groups A and B will advance to the Super 12 stage, where the game’s heavyweight nations will compete.

On October 23, Australia will face South Africa, while the holders, the West Indies, will face England in Group 1 of the Super 12, which will determine the four semi-finalists.

On October 30, England will face Australia in another crucial match in Dubai.

The matches will take place at four different locations: the Dubai International Stadium, Abu Dhabi’s Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Sharjah Stadium, and the Oman Cricket Academy Ground.

The final will be held on November 14 in Dubai, with November 15 set aside as a reserve day.

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) said in a statement that the two countries will meet for the first time since the 2019 50-over World Cup match in Manchester.

Pakistan, the 2009 World Cup champions, will face Kane Williamson’s New Zealand at the historic Sharjah Cricket Stadium on October 26, before returning to Dubai to face Afghanistan for the first time in a T20 World Cup on October 29, according to a release.

Pakistan and Afghanistan have only played one T20I match so far, which the former won in 2013, according to the report.

In their last two matches of the Super 12 stage, which will feature the top eight T20 teams and four teams who secure qualification from Round 1, Pakistan will play the runner up of Group A and winners of Group B on November 2 and 7 at the Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium and the Sharjah Cricket Stadium, respectively.

Zainab Murtaza

Add comment